Beautiful Freaks Fest

Beautiful-Freaks-Fest-2017

 

Welcome, all my fellow freaks and oddities! In celebration of all things that are other (ourselves included!), all things beautiful and terrible, dark and wonderful, bright and full of sharp edges, I give this bit of story. Part of a larger story, to be sure, but the first bit, a bite-sized snack that celebrates the monsters under our beds. Thank you so much to our hostesses Magaly and Emma! Your mad grins, gleaming teeth, and senses of humor give us all a place to feel very much at home. ❤

And now for the beginning of the story…

Dagne dreamed again. When she dreamed, things usually appeared, and when she woke, they sometimes followed her back to the waking world. This time, the thing that followed her back decided to stay. The thing moved in beneath Dagne’s bed, and while she slept, it crept around her room, tasting the air, sniffing the stuffed animals and books, and generally getting to know its new roommate. Dagne, for her part, wasn’t wholly sure if the thing was still beneath her bed, as there appeared to be nothing there during the day, and no one in their right mind looked beneath the bed at night. Until THE night, the night where everything changed. The night that dawned red, washed in blood and echoing screams. That night, Dagne crawled beneath her bed and found the thing was still there. While her father’s screams pierced the walls of the house, embedding themselves like sharp splinters, the thing held Dagne close to its chest, in large, strong arms and stroked her hair, and whispering soothing words in a tongue no mortal ear had heard in an age. Dagne looked up into the face of the thing and smiled, and the thing smiled back. “What can I call you?” asked the child. The thing looked at her for a moment, then smiled its needle-toothed smile in return, “Mourda”. “Thank you, Mourda. I’m glad to finally meet you. I wasn’t sure if you were real here, or just in the dreams.” Mourda smiled again, “Child, I am real here and in dreams and in other places too. And I am not the only one of my kind; your father has met my cousin, Gretje, this very same night.” The girl smiled again, “I’m glad he met your cousin.”

 

And that, my lovelies, is how Dagne and Mourda’s story begins. I hope you enjoyed this tiny tidbit, and I hope you visit the other beautiful freaks this weekend too! Links to all the party posts can be found on Magaly’s and Emma’s blogs. Enjoy your weekend, revel in your oddities, your absurdities and all your glorious otherness.

XOXO

23 Comments Add yours

  1. I, too, am glad he met Mourda’s cousin! I love this bit of pure eerie delight. My sort of story, from beginning to end. Then again, you already knew that.

    I love the child, and the monster, and hurt for the reality this tale whispers beneath its lines.

    Beautifully Freakish. And so necessary.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. By the way, I believe that Mourda might have another cousin in this story of mine: http://magalyguerrero.com/honest-monsters/. The similarities gave me chills…

      Like

      1. Annalee says:

        I just popped over and read Honest Monsters… I loved it! ^__^ I definitely think that Jazz and Mourda could be cousins… *evil grin*

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m convinced they are kin. 😀

        Like

  2. Woohoo! If this is how it starts, I can’t wait for the rest of it! Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annalee says:

      Thank you so much, Sharon! ❤ I hope you enjoy the next few bits I post. ^_^

      Like

  3. victoria says:

    Deeply intriguing story…..wonderful writing..loved it.I loved the names too..beautiful.I look forward to more!
    Victoria

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annalee says:

      Thank you so much, Victoria! Dagne is my wife’s great grandmother’s name, and I love it so much, I had to name a character after her! ^_^ I hope you enjoy the other story bits I post! ❤

      Like

  4. georginamorley says:

    Fabulous introduction to what would seem a mutually helpful friendship 😀 XXX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annalee says:

      Thank you, Georgina! And yes… mutually helpful friendship indeed! ^__^ ❤

      Like

  5. Rommy says:

    A very tantalizing taste of a story

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annalee says:

      Thank you, Rommy! ❤

      Like

  6. sanaarizvi says:

    I wanna know what happens next!! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annalee says:

      Thank you so much! ^_^ I hope you like the next bit I posted for Day 2, and the other bits I’ll be posting after! ❤

      Like

  7. You had me at:

    “When she dreamed, things usually appeared, and when she woke, they sometimes followed her back to the waking world.”

    What a deliciously sinister story morsel that was!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annalee says:

      I’m so glad you liked it, Emma! Thank you! ❤ ❤

      Like

  8. So cool! What happens next!! Great story!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annalee says:

      Thank you, Stacy! ❤

      Like

  9. Sherry Marr says:

    The beginning of a very cool story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annalee says:

      Thank you, Sherry! ^_^ ❤

      Like

  10. B.R. Marsten says:

    A fine and eye-catching opening. I’ll be back to read more…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annalee says:

      Thank you, Ben! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

